© Rolex/Antoine Couvercelle

The Peak of the Clay Court Season

As we know, since 1978, Rolex has maintained privileged ties with tennis, a sport with international influence whose history is constantly renewed through new challenges, new adventures and new champions.

Over time, the Swiss watchmaker has sealed its support for the four Grand Slam tournaments by also partnering with Roland-Garros (taking the place of Longines in 2019 which had remained for eleven years), the flagship tournament of the season. on clay.

Thus, for the fifth consecutive year, Rolex will be Premium Partner and Official Watch of the tournament, the 127th edition of which is being held from May 28 to June 11, 2023.

Second Grand Slam tournament of the year, Roland-Garros has a rich history since its origins date back to 1891.

The ocher courts of Porte d’Auteuil, in the west of Paris, stand out for their high ball rebound and slower pace of play. The result is long and thrilling rallies, which require players to exert considerable physical and mental effort.

Determination, patience and endurance are essential qualities to win the only Grand Slam tournament on clay.

Several Rolex Testimonials excel on clay and have won on the Philippe-Chatrier court (the famous “Central”). After triumphing twice in three years at Roland-Garros, world No. 1 and Rolex Testimony Iga Świątek returns to defend her title.

In June 2022, she signed a victory without appeal in two sets against Coco Gauff, finalist for the first time of a Grand Slam tournament and also Testimonial Rolex.

The Pole follows in the footsteps of other great athletes from the Rolex family such as Justine Henin, who this year celebrates the 20th anniversary of her first coronation (2003, 2005, 2006, 2007), and Chris Evert, who holds a record seven women’s singles titles (1974, 1975, 1979, 1980, 1983, 1985 and 1986).

Asked about his deep attachment to this Grand Slam tournament, Chris Evert confides: “Roland-Garros was like a second home for me. It was my favorite playing surface, I grew up playing on clay courts. This type of ground corresponded perfectly to my game based on patience and regularity. When I watch women’s tennis today, I see that it has become much faster and more aggressive. It’s fascinating to follow the evolution of this sport. »

On the ATP Tour, Rolex Testimony Björn Borg lifted the Coupe des Mousquetaires (made by Mellerio) six times as winner of the men’s singles (1974, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981) and he finished his career with a remarkable 49-2 tournament record.

Carlos Alcaraz will be looking to match the Swede’s success in this 2023 edition. The player will strive to clinch another Grand Slam trophy after triumphing at the 2022 US Open.

The world No. 1 has already demonstrated his talent on clay by reaching the quarter-finals in
Roland-Garros in 2022 and he has had a great start to the season with three titles on clay at the Argentina Open, the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell and, more recently, the Mutua Madrid Open.

As Roland-Garros approaches, Carlos Alcaraz opens up: “I really like coming to Paris. I dreamed of playing in front of such audiences and in such huge stadiums. I’m looking forward to playing against the best players in the world and I’m looking forward to improving my game. I hope to be able to go further in the tournament than last year. »

Among the other Rolex Testimonials vying for the coveted trophy, Stéfanos Tsitsipás will be keen to win his first Grand Slam title after reaching the finals of Roland-Garros in 2021 and the Australian Open last January.

The Greek has proven himself on clay by already winning four titles on this surface, including two at the Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters. Holger Rune, who reached the finals of the Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters and triumphed at the BMW Open by American Express in Munich, will strive to confirm his magnificent start to the season.

Favorite of French players, world No. 4 Caroline Garcia will try to satisfy the enthusiastic French public by winning her first Grand Slam title in singles.

Testimonials Rolex who were winners of Roland Garros
Rod Laver (1962, 1969)
Bjorn Borg (1974, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981)
Chris Evert (1974, 1975, 1979, 1980, 1983, 1985, 1986)
Jim Courier (1991, 1992)
Justine Henin (2003, 2005, 2006, 2007)
Ana Ivanovic (2008)
Roger Federer (2009)
Li Na (2011)
Garbiñe Muguruza (2016)
Iga Świątek (2020, 2022)

Recent Articles